Book review: Elisabeth J. Hobbes, Daughter of the Sea

Daughter of the Sea On a windswept British coastline the tide deposits an unexpected gift… It was the cry that she first noticed, the plaintive wail that called to her over the crash of winter waves. Wrapped only in a sealskin, the baby girl looks up at Effie and instantly captures her heart. She meant … More Book review: Elisabeth J. Hobbes, Daughter of the Sea

Book review: M.K. Wiseman, Sherlock Holmes & the Singular Affair

Sherlock Holmes & the Singular Affair Before Baker Street, there was Montague. Before partnership with a former army doctor recently returned from Afghanistan, Sherlock Holmes had but the quiet company of his own great intellect. Solitary he might be but, living as he did for the thrill of the chase, it was enough. For a … More Book review: M.K. Wiseman, Sherlock Holmes & the Singular Affair

Book title: Sarah Mallory, Cinderella and the Scarred Viscount

Cinderella and the Scarred Viscount An imperfect proposal… But a perfect match? Major James Rossington, Viscount Austerfield, survived Waterloo, but can he survive the Season as London’s most eligible bachelor? Convinced his battle scars make him unlovable, and to escape Society’s matchmakers, Ross proposes a wedding in name only to shy, sensible Carenza Bettridge. Liberated … More Book title: Sarah Mallory, Cinderella and the Scarred Viscount

Book review: Anna Belfrage, The Castillian Pomegranate

An enraged and grieving queen commands them to retrieve her exquisite jewel and abandon their foundling brat overseas—or never return. Robert FitzStephan and his wife, Noor, have been temporarily exiled. Officially, they are to travel to the courts of Aragon and Castile as emissaries of Queen Eleanor of England. Unofficially, the queen demands two things: … More Book review: Anna Belfrage, The Castillian Pomegranate

Book review: Karen Odden, Down a Dark River

Down a Dark River by Karen Odden Publication Date: November 9, 2021 Crooked Lane Books Hardcover & eBook; 336 pages Series: An Inspector Corravan Mystery, Book One Genre: Historical Mystery In the vein of C. S. Harris and Anne Perry, Karen Odden’s mystery introduces Inspector Michael Corravan as he investigates a string of vicious murders … More Book review: Karen Odden, Down a Dark River

Book review: Virginia Heath, Never Fall for your Fiancée

Never Fall for Your Fiancée The trouble with lies is they have a tendency to catch a man out. The last thing Hugh Standish, Earl of Fareham, wants is a wife. But since the only way to keep his mother’s matchmaking ways at bay is the promise of impending nuptials, Hugh takes the most logical … More Book review: Virginia Heath, Never Fall for your Fiancée

Book review: Nadine Galinsky Feldman, The Factory Girl and the Fey

The Factory Girl and the Fey by Nadine Galinsky Feldman Publication Date: October 14, 2021 Genre: Historical Fiction/Fantasy Jane Thorburn straddles two worlds: her life as a “factory girl” in Scotland’s mills, and her birthright as fairy royalty. Abandoned by her parents as an infant, and uncertain about the true motives of the Fey, she … More Book review: Nadine Galinsky Feldman, The Factory Girl and the Fey

Book review: Rachel Fordham, A Lady in Attendance

A Lady in Attendance by Rachel Fordham Publication Date: June 1, 2021 Revell Genre: Historical Fiction/Christian/Romance Five years in a New York state reformatory have left a blemish on Hazel’s real name. So when she takes a job as Doctor Gilbert Watts’s lady in attendance in 1898, she does so under an alias. In the … More Book review: Rachel Fordham, A Lady in Attendance

Book review: Becky Michaels, A Rake Like You

A Rake Like You by Becky Michaels Publication Date: August 31, 2021 Mildred Press Series: Linfield Hall, Book #2 Genre: Historical Romance/Regency About to turn thirty, Charles Finch finally realizes his luck has run out. He’s twenty thousand pounds in debt, his entire family hates him, and the powerful Duke of Rutley is watching his … More Book review: Becky Michaels, A Rake Like You

Book review: Virginia Heath, How Not to Chaperon a Lady

How Not to Chaperon a Lady His childhood nemesis…is the woman he can’t resist! Chaperoning Charity Brookes while she’s on a singing tour should be easy for Griffith Philpot—he’s spent his whole life sparring with her over her flighty ways! But as he discovers that she’s much more than the impetuous girl he thought he … More Book review: Virginia Heath, How Not to Chaperon a Lady