Parked ‘n’ Written

On Saturday, The Next Page strayed from our usual haunts of North Shields and Whitley Bay Libraries into the wilds of Wallsend, to host “Park ‘n’ Write”, in the Community Pavilion of Richardson Dees Park. Despite having spent huge chunks of my childhood in Wallsend, it’s a place I only visited earlier this year, when Elaine and I went to explore one Sunday afternoon. We were so inspired by the place, we decided we had to do ‘something’ there, and so Park ‘n’ Write was born.

park

Taking inspiration from the park, our little band of writers came up with a range of semi-memoir, fantasy and history, showing that writers can always find a new and quirky slant on any prompt. I can never write when I’m leading on a workshop, with one eye on the clock and the other checking everyone seems to be ok, but I’ve come away with some interesting ideas to explore, including the thought that I really want to capture my dad’s thoughts about this place, having grown up so close.

For now though, I’m going back to prompt-planning, whilst I’m in the mood. Our next workshop is the Creative Countdown, a melting-pot of inspiration, on Saturday 21st October, straight after that month’s North Tyneside Writers’ Circle (well, time for a cuppa first, if I’m honest).

Tickets are Β£10 for the session, and will be available shortly from our TicketSource page.

Hope to see you there!

One thought on “Parked ‘n’ Written

Leave a Reply

