A poetic weekend ahead!

For a long time, when I started attending creative writing workshops, I was mainly writing poetry. I tried to stick at NaPoWriMo a couple of times, and really enjoyed a month of learning about found poetry too. But in the last couple of years, I’ve not really tried anything poetic.

That could all be about to change, this weekend…

On Sunday, I’m off to a walk and workshop with Colette Bryce and the Dove Marine Lab as part of the Iron In The Soul festival. We’re having a guided tour of my lovely home-town of Cullercoats, hopefully picking up some trivia tidbits along the way, and then heading to the workshop proper. I must confess, a part of me is a little anxious about jumping in at the deep end, but I loved Colette’s collection Balasting The Ark, from her time in residency at the Dove, and am also really excited about trying to capture some Cullercoats magic on paper. I’ve even selected an appropriate notebook for the next in line, as I’ll have finished my current one in time!

lobsterThis workshop is being followed up on Monday to my first visit to the Poetry Society’s Stanza group in North Shields, run by Harry Gallagher. I’ve been a member for a while, but not made it along to any before. At least, after Sunday, my head should be attuned to poetry, and having a temporary break from prose.

I’ve never wanted to move completely away from poetry, so I’m chuffed that the events have fallen so close together.

I shall report back…

One thought on “A poetic weekend ahead!

  1. Hi Jenny Please pass best wishes on to Harry Re: his poetry society stanza evening in North Shields next Monday. Can’t make it this month but as a co- poetry society member I hope to make future events. Kind regards Rowland
    Sent from my iPhone
    >

    Like

Leave a Reply

