A twice-important day

Happy 1st November! Marking two important days, closely linked – Authors’ Day, and the start of the annual madness which is National Novel Writing Month. I’ve written about NaNoWriMo before, both in terms of being successful, and most recently, about, well, not, but it’s always a good topic to talk about again.

My NaNoWriMo 2013 inspiration (and leading man)

 

I’m not technically taking part this year – I’m so close to finishing the work-in-progress, and really need to focus – but I’ll definitely be cheering everyone else on from the sidelines, and perhaps using all that massed goodwill to add some scenes to a new WIP. So many words, all being generated in one frantic month, and every single one a good thing, whether they end up in a published novel or not.

As has been said time and time again (and sung, fantastically, at Swanwick, early this year), the best to get better at writing (whatever writing that is) is just to keep doing it as regularly as possible, and just keep going. I’ve been trying really hard to write every day, and it definitely helps. I’ve just broken the 50,000 words barrier in the manuscript I planned to finish during NaNoWriMo 2015, but clearly did not.

NaNo-2015-Participant-Banner

My 2015 participant banner – it wasn’t upgraded to a winners’ badge!

So, good luck to everyone getting started, looking for that magic 1,677 daily word target. I’ll be thinking of you, as I push on for my daily 500.

Happy scribbling!

Posted on November 1, 2016, in Historical fiction, Richard III, Writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. I have never taken part in NaNoWriMo but am hoping to take the plunge next year. At the moment, like you, my work in progress is too far on and I just need to keep going! Lovely sentiments though, which I would like to second. It’s a massive undertaking and I admire everyone setting out on that adventure today.

    Like

Leave a Reply

