Off to Swanwick!

Thanks to the modern wonder of scheduling blog posts in advance, by the time you read this, I’ll be on a train, winging my way (all being well) through the countryside to Derbyshire, to take part in the 68th Swanwick Writers’ School. I’ve known about Swanwick for years, and always wanted to go, but somehow felt it was too big a thing to do, that I didn’t quite ‘deserve’ a place, and that I’d be a terrified newbie with nobody to talk to.

swanwick prog

My Swanwick programme – already gone through with a fine-toothed comb!

 

Well, last October, I decided enough was enough, and that 2016 was going to be my year to go. And so in January, when the places went on sale, I got myself signed up, and watched with glee as the various courses were announced. You don’t have to sign up for any courses in advance for Swanwick, you literally see what takes your fancy on each given day, and wander along. Having said that, me being me, I have of course worked out exactly what I want to be doing at any given hour of any day between now and Friday!

There’s creative non-fiction, strategies for your plots (and your own sanity), poetry, idea-generation, and a fantastic array of evening speakers lined up. I think I calculated 16 different slots I’d be going to, broken down into the various hour sessions, long- and short-courses and talks, as well as the 0800 start to the day, Lift Up Your Pens. I have a feeling this isn’t going to be a relaxing trip at all, and I’m sort of glad I’ll have Saturday and Sunday to recover and try to get back into work mode, but equally, I cannot wait.

I’ll try and post during the week, but I suspect free time is not going to be high on my agenda… Have a good week, and see you on the other side (hopefully, with filled notebooks!)

Posted on August 6, 2016, in Writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

