Letters from Elsewhere: Fra’ Roberto

Romeo and Juliet, rewritten… (And with a MUCH better ending!). Read an excerpt from Fra’ Roberto’s diary on Miriam’s blog today to find out more…

An' de walls came tumblin' down

Letters from Elsewhere

I’m delighted to welcome Fra’ Roberto to the blog today. He comes from the pages of The Ghostly Father by Sue Barnard and is sharing an excerpt from his diary. Take it away, Fra’.

FRA’ ROBERTO’S DIARY

Today we welcomed two new postulants to the friary. 

As always, I instructed Fra’ Amadeo that I wanted to meet them in person before I learned anything about their backgrounds.  I prefer to form my initial opinions of people purely on their own merits, and this is much easier if my mind is not cluttered by any preconceptions.

The new postulants are called Gianni and Sebastiano.  From their appearance, I divined that they are both around twenty years of age.  Gianni is short and slight, and despite his cheerful demeanour, he looked (to my mind at least) as though he bore the signs of a deprived and impoverished past.  Sebastiano, by contrast, is tall, solid…

View original post 640 more words

Posted on July 15, 2016, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

