Dying for a good murder…

I love a good murder (mystery). A couple of weeks ago, I lost a whole day to New Tricks, back-to-back, and nothing makes my Sunday afternoons like finding a Midsomer or the like that I’ve never seen before (or at least not for a long time). As for when new series come along, I’m in.

Lewis, Shetland, Marple, Poirot, Vera, Foyle’s War – the list is endless. And, of course, during those grey January evenings, I enjoyed a healthy dose of sunshine with the likes of Death in Paradise and Inspector Montalbano (young, and, well, not so young).

Weirdly, despite having loved to watch them for years, I’m only just starting to get around to reading them. Haven’t even started on Christie yet, but I’ve been making a start on those with a historical leaning. The Tudor Shardlake series by CJ Sansom and the Falco books by Lindsay Davis have got me hooked.

But what about writing them? Despite attending a fantastic workshop on crime writing with Iron Press back in June 2015 (hosted in part by the great Ann Cleeves, no less), I just cannot get my head around the plotting. I get an idea in my head, a cast of characters even, and I even work out who’ll get bumped off, how, and by who, but if I write it down, then it’s painfully obvious who the guilty party is within a minute of starting. The notion of red-herrings and plot twists is beyond me.

So to give myself a bit of a go at things, I’ve signed up to Crime Story 2016. A whole day of ‘proper’ crime information, about procedures, courts and crime scenes, as well as two creative writing workshops, including a look at historical crime writing.

In the meantime, I’m going to keep up the research, and surely another weekend afternoon with ITV3 counts, yes? Excellent.

Leave a Reply

