Leicester Day Two – Part Two

So, at this time, I was sat in the Cathedral itself, having watched this very coffin make its way into the building (and, oddly, half-expecting some horses to gallop in – watch the footage, it certainly looked that way initially!).
It’s funny, but despite saying I’ll be putting it into words ‘later’, it still hasn’t entirely happened. A couple of poems came out of that weekend, but not remotely what I had been aiming for.
On a personal note, it was a very strange weekend, as after the ‘randomness’ of being at part of Richard III’s reburial services, I went within 48hrs to Darlington, for my own Gran’s funeral. Very different events, as you can imagine, but in my mind now, inextricably linked.
Perhaps one day, there’ll be a piece of writing which somehow links the two, but I think it’s still simmering somewhere in the brain. I hope it is, at any rate…

Tales from the Notepad

This evening, I had the amazing fortune to attend the service of Compline at Leicester Cathedral, having been chosen in the public ballot. I will try to put this into better words later, as right now, I am still a bit in awe at everything I’ve seen, attended and learnt this weekend. Suffice to say, my head is spinning. But in a good way.
So, I shan’t ramble, and will leave you with an image of the coffin, lying in the heart of the cathedral, waiting for his final resting place.

View original post

Posted on March 22, 2016, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

