NaNoWriMo 2015 – Week 1 Report!

Well, this is it – one week in to the crazy adventure which is National Novel Writing Month. As I wrote on Vic Watson’s blog, every year, thousands of people (or probably hundreds of thousands, if truth be told) sign up to the madness of trying to write 50,000 words in a month. I missed it last year, not feeling motivated to try and reach that goal, but in 2013, I managed to ‘win’, and the result (after a LOT of editing) was my debut novel. So that was worth it!

This year, I’m giving it a go, and to be honest, am quite happy with my word count so far – 13,013 words in Week One. So far, I’m managing to carve out an hour or two a day after work, or spending all of yesterday afternoon at my desk, and it is coming together. However, having reviewed my upcoming workload for the end of this month and into December, whether I actually make it all the way to 50,000 is a whole other matter. Just in case real life does happen to get in the way, my personal target is now 50,000 words by the end of the year.

I decided to follow on from the theme of 2013, and keep going with my tales of ghostly goings-on, this time, moving the action north of the border, and meeting a whole host of new characters to get to know. My knowledge of their exact histories is a little hazier than the group I focused on for the Tower of London, and so there are a lot of ‘maybes’ and ‘need to check this’ comments being added (in the actual text, obviously – got to think about that word count!). I am doing some reading, and am particularly enjoying My Heart is My Own by John Guy, following the life of Mary, Queen of Scots, somebody I’ve been fascinated by since I was little, and every castle in Scotland that we visited seemed to have a room that she had slept in. I was lucky enough to attend a lecture by John Guy as part of the fantastic exhibition the National Museum of Scotland held about Mary, and the catalogue for that exhibition (In My End is My Beginning by Rosalind K Marshall) is another great resource, along with Mary was Here from Historic Scotland.

Whatever happens to my final word count, at least I’m enjoying the background reading!

And with that, back to the writing…

Posted on November 8, 2015, in Historical fiction, History, Kindred Spirits, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

